Politics

Before I begin – let me make one thing very, very crystal clear. I don’t like politics and politicians. Any of them and all of them. Individually, in groups or any other prescribed manner.

I’m usually too wrapped up in my work to bother about politics, unless it affects me directly in some form or manner, like an increase in income tax, a hike in fuel prices or some similar stuff.

I can’t help hearing them though – or their political supporters. Dad, for one, is a very avid follower of politics. Then, practically every member of my country on twitter and Facebook is hell bent on making their views heard and the story doesn’t end there.

Our problem is our passionate belief in politicians we see as our leaders.Leaders who cannot stop bickering among themselves long enough to pay attention to where the country is going, guided by the corrupt bureaucracy. The leaders all want to govern – and to do that, they’ll play every dirty trick they know of.

Including inciting people to hatred based on geographies, ethnicities, religion and families. We have Pathans, Punjabis, Baloch, Sindhis, Mohajirs, Memons, etc etc etc but no Pakistanis.

I’ve been privileged enough to live in the UAE and spend some time in other places. UAE is composed of 7 independent states that came together to form a single state. Yet, no Emirati is ever heard telling others that he’s a Fujairite, a Dubaiite, or any other -ite for that matter. Same goes for the Indian. Ditto for the Brit and the American. Why? Their leaders don’t use these tricks to garner their support.

Yet us Pakistanis don’t ever say we’re Pakistanis. If someone does ask us – we respond, I’m a Pakistani but basically a and the listener who’s usually a foreigner is like – what do you mean? He / she gets a full explanation after that, desired or not.

So people, please don’t follow your leaders blindly. Know who you are and where you’re from, certainly. Respect the others as you would want to be respected yourself. Unite as a nation under one flag and don’t stay divided under people who do not have your best interests at heart – only their lust for power. Which is absolutely nothing without you.

About

I'm a banker by profession and a mechanic by passion. I also like writing, photography, reading, good food in moderate quantities, doing the dishes and being left alone. I live in Karachi with my parents, wife and two kids. My photos can be viewed at https://www.instagram.com/shirazmaqbool and you can write to me at shirazmaqbool@gmail.com

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment