An older post from October 2008.

 

My elder sister works at the State Bank of Pakistan. Cue for craziness. They’re all loony. Brilliant, but loony.

So it spells disaster when she decides she wants a car. The first time she said she wanted one, it was a Volkswagen Beetle. The 1960’s version, to be exact. The problem is, she insists I hunt around for it, and chauffeur her around, which she is bound to get enforced by my dad. (I’m a wimp in front of my family – can’t put my foot down at all) I managed to talk her out of it, as it would mean me being the laughing stock among my friends (You’re an authority amongst us in cars, and all you can think of is getting her a Volkswagen Beetle???

Next, she wanted a Ferrari. Thank God, there are no Ferraris around here. Not that we can afford one anyway. Problem solved.

Now, she wants a 1983 Toyota Celica GT. She’s hunted one down, and sent me to investigate. I’m a die hard fan of bikes but know my cars as well – Give me Triumph Inline 3’s and Lotuses any day, but that Celica GT??? Gimme a break.

A little info on the Car. Celica’s are wannabe race cars. They have it all. The suspension. The handling. The looks. (Not everyone admires them, but they do have a limited appeal). What it does not have – Power & Torque. As it uses a 2 Liter, naturally aspirated petrol engine, you can’t expect miracles. But it’s reliable, looks unique in Karachi, and is a blast to drive. The original go kart for people like me.

The car she’s searched – Looks clean enough, the interior could do with a bit of work, but the cinch – It’s engine, powerless to begin with – has been replaced with a Diesel! Yes! A 2 Liter, no turbo / naturally aspirated – diesel!

God has a weird sense of humor. Why me?

And me, being the nice brother I am, am getting it for her. (I afraid she’ll kick my butt if I don’t comply – She’s 5’2″, I’m 5’10” and she still wins as I can’t fight back as per paternal rules – and she plays dirty – hits in all the wrong places – like a punch to the back of the jaw, stepping on the feet, you get the drift…) On the condition that she learn to drive, and If she wants to learn, she’s gotta learn it in the car she’s buying – since I’ll drive her around for only weekdays. Maybe I’m not so nice, heh heh.

Its a sports car. Means the seat is low, the pedals are way down there, and I’m guessing she won’t be able to look out of the car if her feet are on the pedals, and vice-versa. hopefully, that is. God is usually on the lookout for such shenanigans on my part, and does his best to over-set my well planned schemes…..

It’s worth a try, though….

About

An erratic, absent minded individual with a curiosity level equivalent to that of a dead cat. If I do something, it's probably on a whim and not planned, just like my blogs. Which are, like me, erratic, boring and certainly worth wasting time over since it's yours anyway.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

